The Sabbatical Year

  1. Every seventh year is a Sabbath of Rest for the land and the fields must lie fallow and the ground must not be tilled. (Leviticus 25:2-7, 20-22)

  2. In the seventh year everything that grows is to be eaten by all. (Leviticus 25:2-7,20-22)

  3. You must consecrate and proclaim the Jubilee year. (Leviticus 25:10-12)

  4. On the Day of Atonement in the Jubilee year, the shofar must be sounded and all Hebrew slaves set free. (Leviticus 25:9-10, 13)

  5. In the Jubilee year all the land is to be returned to its appointed owners. (Leviticus 25:23-28)

  6. In a walled city the seller has a right to buy back a house within a year of the sale. (Leviticus 25:29-30)

  7. The years until the Jubilee must be counted. (Leviticus 25:8)

  8. The seventh year is the Year of Release. (Deuteronomy 15:3)

  9. In the seventh year a foreigner may be pressed for payment of a debt. (Deuteronomy 15:3)